Advertisements
Aquatic Avenue Banner Tropica Shop Banner Fishy Business Banner

Thread: What is the cheapest lighting that would grow plants?

Feedback Score
    Country
    Canada

What is the cheapest lighting that would grow plants?

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    in tanks up to 24 " tall ?
    I have very little knowledge of bulbs and current lighting systems, and with 4 large tanks and severely limited funds, I don't know what kind and how much lighting and if it is possible on very low budget.
    The only experience with planted tank for me was 4 regular fluorescent tubes over an 18 " tall tank. That worked OK.

any clues for better than a bunch of regular shoplights on top ?

thanks,
    Dave

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Malaysia
    Hi Dave, you can try to get those rated at around 6500K.
    I'm not sure what you have over there, but over here we use compact fluorescent for more power per area. There's brands by Phillips, Osram and a few others. The ones to get are 36W.

They make it in long single tubes [T8] as well. We get standard sizes like 2 ft and 4ft here due to market demand.
    Here's a link for the long ones. 6500K and 84 CRI. You can see more details when you search in 'find the bulb you need'
    http://www.nam.lighting.philips.com/...lay.php?mode=4

These have nice colour rendition. Not too warm and not too cool.
    You can if you dare to fail - Stan Chung

Feedback Score
    Country
    Canada
    Stan,
    Thank you lots for a good clue on the 6500K. I find that going with T8 might cost me far in excess of my budget , if I get let's say, 12 or 16 tubes and the fixtures.
    In the end I might have to go with regular T12 fluorescents and a couple of red LED cluster lights, I don't know for sure.
    I might have to limit my planted tank desires to one 100 g tank instead of 4 x 100 gal.

Dave

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Malaysia
    Hi Dave,