Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I am new to Killies

I am new to Killies

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi

I am new to killies keeping, in fact I only started fish keeping seriously for the past three years. Had gone through some of the stickies and realised that there are Annual and Non-annual killies.

As a beginner, I would like to start off with the non-annual species first such as the Aphyosemion. What will be the recommeded species to a starter like me? I also truly support the forum's code to uphold the originality and strain of the killies. Thus, where can I purchase killies that had not gone through hybridisation?

Thanks

Feedback Score
    Wow, polite, No-sms and singlish. Mmmmm too good to be real. Hope you don't think i am being rude. I like to joke most of the time. Anyway, welcome to the forum and to the world of killie.

Actually i should be calling you senior. I only started keeping fish "alive" since last september. I was fishing regularly previously. So those i that i didn't release (i kept) are all dead fish.

I think everyone is doing some preparation for the coming event. So might be hard to get killie in pair for the next few weeks.

What i can suggest you to do is to get some fish egg and do a lot of reading while waiting for the "event". Depends on what species you get, you should be able to hatch some fry and get started real soon.

I started with annual killie fish egg anyway.
    KeeHoe.

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    Hello Dennis and welcome to the forum,

For beginners the best suited non-annual species would be Aphyosemion australe or AUS for short. I believe some of the guys here may still be holding them.

And thanks for supporting our code of ethics with regards to killifish populations and codes.
    Fish.. Simply Irresistable
    Back to Killies... slowly.

Feedback Score