Country
    Singapore

Large OHF on a 1FT Tank

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi there,

new to this hobby, would like to seek some advice on an OHF that I have thats quite too powerful for the tank.

I already have 1ft cube tank nano setup rearing shrimps and some enders/neons. Being a beginner, i got this from the marketplace and it has everything in one set, including GEX soil, small eheim pump and a small DAZ single bulb light.

Recently my dad showed me a 5W Jebo OHF that produces 450L/H that he bought sometime back. I tried the filter on the setup, but found the waterfall generated was way too strong, churning up the soil even at the lowest setting. (abt water flow that penetrates 6-7inches of water, churns up the soil and makes the shrimps go "Weeeeeeee!!!")

I'm interested to replace the older OHF with this. Questions are,

1) is the filter appropriate for the 1ft setup?
    2) if it is, how can i reduce the impact of the "waterfall"?

Hope I've provided sufficient info..

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    It's already pretty obvious that your current OHF is too strong for the setup.

Go for an OHF that is about 300L/H or lower like the Whirlpool HOF 280 or Whirlpool HOF 150. These are more appropriate for 1ft setups and provide good water flow.
    Last edited by Mizu World; 13th Dec 2008 at 10:06.
    Mizu World - Understanding your Aquatic Needs
    Web: http://www.mizuworld.com Email: [email protected] Contact: +6597857957 (Ben)

Distributor of

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore
    I'm setting up 2 x 1fts shortly and personally I went for the 80.You'd want good flow but not too strong a flow either.

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    I see, thanks for the tip.

Feedback Score
    19 (100%)
    Images
    Country
    Singapore