Country
    Singapore

Shrimp Newbie. Please advise!!

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi,

Currently, I am preparing 2 tanks intending to rear shrimps. Currently still undergoing cycling process. I am very new to shrimps and have some questions to post.

1) After the cycling process, is it safe to add in the shrimps? Because I have seen alot of products in LFS with labels claiming to condition the tank suitable to rear shrimps. Like this brand Mosura. It has "Old sea Mud powder, Mineral Plus, and many other products.
    Do i have to add these in before my tank is ready for the shrimps?
    Or can I add them in after the cycling process?

2) What kind of shrimp food is better? those black pellet form, or those small whitish pieces that look like cornflake size.

3) Both my tanks are not covered, and I prefer to top up the tank until its almost full. Will shrimps like sakura and Crs jump out?

Please advise.. Thanks

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    HI.. I'm new too. Started the hobby 6 months ago. These are some things i know;

1) What soil you using? Normally i will use Gex Soil. (green for plant/shrimp or red for shrimp) For extra items, they are up to you. For me, just throw in a old sea mud rock will do. The shrimplets will find food on the rock.

2) For food anything you can try but don't feed everyday. once every 2 days will do.

3) Normally they don't jump. Keep 1 inch up to the brim.

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore
    Quote Originally Posted by yakie_19 View Post
    Hi,

Currently, I am preparing 2 tanks intending to rear shrimps. Currently still undergoing cycling process. I am very new to shrimps and have some questions to post.