Singapore

water sprite

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi All,

I am new to water sprite but I intend to grow them. I will need advise on:

1. The scientific names are Ceratopteris pteridoides, C. thalictroides, etc. How many types of water sprite are there?

2. Which is the easiest to grow? I heard there is one that grows like weed but I don't know which one.

3. What is the common name of this plant in LFS?

4. I understand they can be grown floating and planted. What are the growth condition for each situation?

5. Are they grown emersed in the farm? How to adapt them to aquatic life?

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Re: water sprite

I won't recommend this plant. It grow really fast and things get way messy before you know it.
    Raven Abaddon Aquarium Production

Feedback Score
    Country
    United_States

Killing water sprite takes skill. Stick it in the tank, watch it grow. If the fish are alive, this plant should be too, unless the fish are tearing it apart.

-Philosophos

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore

I don't really have green fingers. I hope it will grow like weed. When it really does take, I will then start worrying.

"If the fish are alive, this plant should be too". Is it really that easy?

I went to C328 and I found water sprite there. The lady boss said it is called (in Chinese) "guppy grass". Is that the correct one? She said it is grown emersed, so it will die and hopefully some will grow back. She didn't say it so directly but I got the hint.

Feedback Score
    Country
    United_States

Guppy grass? Looks like a highly abused name when I google it. Results range from java moss to subwassertang and najas. Get pics and ID if you're unsure of the binomial. Even the term, "water sprite" can reffer to a few variations, and is also a very common mislable for H. Difformis.