Country
    Singapore

New Plant & Shrimp Tank

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi All,
    Initially I started my tank with some plant and 8 guppies, but they just die off 1 by a day. So I clear up all my soil, plants and filters and give them a good wash as I found thin layer of oil above my water.
    This is my first time having planted tank. Use to have lou han fish only. Just a simple tank with pump and filters. So what have cause all my fish to die, izzit that layer of oil temp too high or that water pump have no air at all.
    Now I rearrange and modified the water pump to suck in air. Add in new cherry shrimp to try it out again for the past 5 days. With water temp at 28-30 degree.
    My tank is a 25 litre tank with Three-stage filtration: biochemical sponge filter chemical/activated carbon biological/ceramic rings/bio balls, 1x 18w PL light and 3kg of Gex soil.
    Can any senior advice or comment on my tank.
    Last edited by Vipertarius; 10th Jul 2010 at 07:03.

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Re: New Plant & Shrimp Tank

Thats a nice hatchetfish in your tank.

Did you cycle your tank? Best to do so before adding in your fauna.
    Try not to use water straight from the tap to wash your equipment as this may kill your fishes.

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

you might want to test your water parameters and post here, so the experts can give you a better analysis. btw, is that rock safe? did you do the vinegar test?

as for the oily film, its normal for a planted setup, refer to this thread to clear your doubts.

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Quote Originally Posted by alas View Post
    Thats a nice hatchetfish in your tank.

Did you cycle your tank? Best to do so before adding in your fauna.
    Try not to use water straight from the tap to wash your equipment as this may kill your fishes.