Advertisements
Aquatic Avenue Banner Tropica Shop Banner Fishy Business Banner

Thread: How much soil / sand for a 5ft x 2ft tank ?

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

How much soil / sand for a 5ft x 2ft tank ?

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi, newbie here...need advice on substrate,
    Going to set up a planted 522 tank with GEX soil light green packing and black sand.
    Planned to get 3 x 8kg GEX soil as base and 3 x 10kg black sand to cover on top. Is this amount of soil and sand enough ? Thanks.

Feedback Score
    20 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

Re: How much soil / sand for a 5ft x 2ft tank ?

Hi there, hope that my setup may help you.
    For my tank ( 2feet by 1 feet) , i used up 8kg of gex soil with the thickness of 6-8 cm average out ( flat land )So i will presume you just need 5 packets of 8 kg GEX soil for ur tank to achive 5cm flat soil layout. You might need another pack or 2 to creat some slop effect.
    -Enjoy your weekend, enjoy my Genting trip-

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Images
    Country
    Singapore

Simple calculation. Take the width and length of your tank in cm, multiply together with the height of substrate, then divide by 1000 to get the amount of substrate needed in litres.

If the substrate you want is sold in litres (or other unit of volume), it's straight forward.

If the substrate you want is sold in kg (or other unit of weight) then just assume that 1 kg is ABOUT 1 litre. However, as solids are more dense then water, you should overbuy by about 10% to 20%.

So if your tank is 150cm long and 60 cm wide, 3 cm of substrate is 27 litres. So you will need about 4 bags of GEX (32 kg). Or go with 3 bags if you feel 2++ cm is enough.

(if you plan to slope the substrate, just take the average between the deepest and shallowest part of your substrate.)

End of the day, is basically estimation and EYES-timation (go, see and visualise).