Advertisements
Aquatic Avenue Banner Tropica Shop Banner Fishy Business Banner

Thread: Balance between Angelfish and plants?

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Balance between Angelfish and plants?

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi guys i am new to the aquarium hobby. Now im starting my first aquarium in a 3 * 1.5 *1 feet tank. I am intending to add several angel fish, some compatible fish like loaches and polypterus(any other recommendations) and some plants into the tank. The main theme of the tank is the angelfish while the plants are there to create a more comfortable environment for them.

My concern is:

1) Is there a need for me to add a CO2 system for the plants?
    I am only looking to put some of those java fern colony which are tied to a small drift wood which i can buy form LFS.

2) Is there a need for me to put an air pipe to provide oxygen for the fishes?
    Correct me if i am wrong, but so far i have read that angel fish prefers less turbulent waters so i was trying to see if i can do without the air bubbles. Some staff in LFS also say i can do without the bubbles.

3)Is my pump having placing too much current in the tank?
    Currently my pump is a newly bought Fluval 305 and its running at 80% capacity.

4)How long should i leave the lights on for the plants?
    The tank does not receive direct sun light during the day and i was convinced by a staff at LFS to buy the two 2feet 18wt Arcadia lightning tubes for my tank.

Would appreciate greatly if anyone can offer some advice

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Images
    Country
    Singapore

Re: Balance between Angelfish and plants?

CO2 is not required. What you should be setting up is a low tech planted tank. You will need less light, less fertilizer. It's still a good idea to use a carbon fertilizer like Seachem Excel in place of CO2.