Images
    Country
    Singapore

Aro in planted tank

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    hi all, i'm new to planted tank, abt a year old. i have a rtg in my 5 ft planted tank. recently, i have this doubt about keeping aro in it.

If i'm not wrong, a planted tank usually last u 2 to 3 year before u redo it. rite? can someone enlightened me the reason behind.

If the above is true, that mean i have lots of work to do every 2 to 3 year, wah very siong leh! or is there any alternative?

tks for reading. cheers! []
    Koh

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore
    2-3 year is due to substrate either becoming anoxic, basefert depletion, or substrate deterioration.

that's typical for eg: gravel + base fert, ada soil types.

furthermore, its also about boring.. ie: you tear down to start with new ideas.

in anycase, I planned ahead more or less by chosing fluorite as substrate...the only reason I'd tear it down is move to bigger tank. or NEW gadgets.. for some stupid reason have the idea of installing substrate heating cables..(but weather so hot already...pointless)

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    tks chris.

so does it mean that i regularly insert horti stick, i can solve the problem of fert depleting. besides, by releasing the air in the gravel, i cure anerobic. thus i can keep the tank as long as i want?

the reason i have this worry is that aro grow quite fast and shifting her is a real headache. []
    Koh

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore
    you could always do java fern on driftwood and no substrate.. heh

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore
    ----------------
    On 5/23/2003 12:53:48 AM

tks chris.

so does it mean that i regularly insert horti stick, i can solve the problem of fert depleting. besides, by releasing the air in the gravel, i cure anerobic. thus i can keep the tank as long as i want?