Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

advise needed from experienced hobbyists

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    hi! thank you for looking at this thread.

i'm very very new to this hobby, i've ordered a tank and it's arriving in a week's time. the dimensions are 6' x 2.5' x 2.5'.

currently, i have plans for it to be a "semi planted tank": (left) 3 feet of 2" sandy flats, with a lava rock "breakwater" kind of structure before sloping up 4" where the planted area will be (right) and plenty of driftwood amongst. the tank also consist of a sump and a set of T5HO lights (8 tubes) which will provide lighting for the plants, and i will add frogbits (since the flow of the tank is towards the left side) to provide shade over the sandy flats (some of the fishes i will be keeping prefer a darker environment).

i'm sorry but i'm not really good at describing, hope you can understand what i mean!

i have a couple of queries, hope i can get some answers here...

1) i've bought 6 bags of 10kg GEX "pure sand extra smooth" as substrate. i'm wondering if this substrate is adequate for planting easy-medium level plants. if needed, i can add a base fert layer (your recommendation please!).

2) i will be keeping some pretty high bio-load fishes. so far i've ordered and paid for 10 wild golden archer fishes, and a few spotted perch, bichirs and 2 irwini catfishes. i'm wondering if the bio-load and co2 output of these fishes is able to sustain the healthy growth of the plants?

3) any tips for combating algae in my setup?

thanks for reading, i know it's a little long winded.... but i'm really excited about this project!

Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    Images
    Country
    Singapore

Re: advise needed from experienced hobbyists