Country
    Singapore

Raising Apistogramma's fries

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi All,

I am very new to (in-fact this is my first time) apistogramma keeping.
    Therefore I seeking advice from everyone on raising apistogramma's fries. Below way of keeping the fries is learnt from Aquanoob post (title: My german ram just laid eggs) as I find they are coming from same family.
    The question I'm going to ask is below is correct way of keeping the fries?

History:
    i) 1st spawing on Oct around 60 fries dead within 1 wk.
    ii) 2nd spawing on Nov around 30 fries dead within 1 wk too.

1st spawing:-
    i) I directly separate the fries with parents after 2 days into a 2L tank (empty).
    ii) Feeding: Liquidfry No.1 - directly drop into the tank. And notice it's a wrong way after reading on Aquanoob posted (title: My German Blue Ram Just lay eggs).
    iii) Changing 50% water daily, & the water is from main tank.

Results (in raising tank):
    Day 1: less than 10 fries die.
    Day 2: 50% of the fries die.
    Day 3: All fries die.

2nd spawing:-
    i) Spotted the fries free swimming (Day 1). Separate all the fishs out and left the parent with the fries. Preparing the 'raising' tank with moss with air pump and fill up the water from main tank.
    ii) After 3 days (fries staying with parent), the fries is separate into the 'raising' tank.
    iii) Start feeding them with Liquidfry No.1 with correct way as mention in Aquanoob post page 4.
    iv) Changing 30% water, daily using main tank water.

Result is same with first spawing (all die within 1 wk).

Fries staying with parent: Should I only separate the fries from parent after 1 wk?
    Food: mainly is Liquidfry No.1. Should I start feeding them with BBS (Baby Brime Shrimp) on first wk? what other food is recommended on first wk?

From above, what I did wrong? Please advice.