1 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

Wink Beginner to Shrimps keeping

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hey all, I'm new to this hobby and this is getting addictive.

Started off with just 2 yellow shrimps, followed by 2 blue pearls (which both died - dunno the reason ). Currently in my tank there is an Oto, 4 Red Cherry and 10 Crystal Red. I will take a picture of them and post it up later.

Honestly I have not been following up with water parameters and cycling - it's just dumping Gex red soil and water, and some basic declorine stuff.. and let the water sit for 3 days. This must be the case for my dying shrimps.

The only equipment in my tank now is a small LED light on auto timer 10-11hours daily and Small sponge filter. Temperature is reading at 25-27. Is this temperature good enough for CRS? I heard from others that cooling is needed.

Anyway, would like to learn more about water quality control, stuff like NO2, NO3 and measurements from you guys. Do you have any recommended test kits? (Price and location pls) Or any other recommended equipments I should get.

Also want to learn more about feeding frequency, how to spot signs of distress so as to salvage my shrimps from dying.

Ok, too much words. I will post up pictures tonight.
    Cheers!

My RCS and CRS on a "Moss Tree"

Feedback Score
    28 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

Re: Beginner to Shrimps keeping

Hi bro, firstly, you might want to consider cycling your tank ? We shrimp keeper can't emphasize on how important this is. Shrimps are way more sensitive comparing to fishes - always provide the best environment for your pet ehh.