Thread: water change

Feedback Score

water change

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi,

I am new to fish and planted tank and have just started a 4 ft tank.
    I would like to ask how often should I change the tank water and how much to change? The next question is, can I just refill the tank with water straight from the tap or must I de-cholrinate the water first. If I do need to de-cholrinate, could you tell me what is the best way to do it easily?

I have a piece a drift wood in the tank and is now making the water very brownish after about one month. I have soaked and boiled that piece of drift wood before I introduce it into the tank but still the color comes out.
    Do I need to do water change very often to get rid of the color? And will the color stop coming out of that piece of wood?

Any advice is most welcomed.

Thanks.
    KC

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore
    ----------------
    On 12/11/2003 11:49:00 AM

Hi,

I am new to fish and planted tank and have just started a 4 ft tank.
    I would like to ask how often should I change the tank water and how much to change? The next question is, can I just refill the tank with water straight from the tap or must I de-cholrinate the water first. If I do need to de-cholrinate, could you tell me what is the best way to do it easily?

I have a piece a drift wood in the tank and is now making the water very brownish after about one month. I have soaked and boiled that piece of drift wood before I introduce it into the tank but still the color comes out.
    Do I need to do water change very often to get rid of the color? And will the color stop coming out of that piece of wood?

Any advice is most welcomed.

Thanks.
    KC
    ----------------
    How often you change your water depends on your bioload (number of fishes) and the size of your tank. Usually, once a week is a good guideline.