Country
    Singapore

Talking new kid on the block

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi guys,

I am new to aqua-scaping so I would appreciate any sort of advice on my current set-up. I did this up in about 2-3 hours last Saturday, which I think was a pretty rush job compared to the time others have spent on. I am hoping to add in a driftwood that looks like a pyramid/triangle when rested on its legs, and have it lie on one side to create some sort of a "angled" tree effect to the tank.

The fishes in there are feeder type of fishes, just to keep off breeding mosquitoes, and for aesthetics purposes

Here are the specifications of the tank:

Tank Size: 2 ft
    Filter: Hailea Internal Filter
    Soil: Planta soil (green packet)
    Lighting: T5 white light (2 switches)
    Light regime: Approximately 8 hours a day, sometimes longer, other days shorter. Tank is near window so it does get some natural light in the day, but note that it is not beside the window so there's no direct natural light
    CO2 mechanics: DIY product with stone diffuser (no gas chamber; direct output to tank)
    Fertilizer: Liquid - Seachem Flourish (Comprehensive supplement for the planted aquarium)
    Temperature: Not measured. Should be room temperature of 26 - 28 degrees celsius.
    pH: Not measured
    kH: Not measured
    Water changes: Not done yet since it's the first weekend. Hoping to settle it at once a week (hoping to start a low-tech tank)

Flora:
    - Java fern
    - Hornwort
    - Unknown plants (If someone can identify the rest, it would help !)

Fauna:
    - 6 unidentified 'feeder' fishes

What I hope to achieve for the tank is to have it turned low-tech. The CO2 and the liquid fertilizer is there for now to give the plants a boost. Once the ground is carpeted by the plants in the foreground, I would remove the CO2 and very likely the liquid fertilizer. I am fully aware that the stem plants might die also.