Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

handling plants

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi, I'm a newbie and hope to find wisdom here. I have searched the forum but could not find the answers and so write this

I am putting together the necessary stuff to start a 2 ft planted low tech tank. so far for the past 2 weeks, I have bought most of the hardware, and now left the stones and plants. for the latter, have gone around the LFS and have some questions

- for those plants attached to bog wood and sold in plastic bags, how long can these last in these bags? as I can only start the tank over the weekend, if I buy earlier in the week, it will be a few days before I can start on this

- many of these plants are attached o small pieces of wood (not the large DW). are these meant to be separated from the wood, or planted together with the wood into the substrate?

- I see some shops sell sheets of (christmas?) moss as a "sheet" - can these be cut into smaller pieces and put directly onto the substrate? or do I need to tie them to a mesh? I presume I can use these moss to tie to the DW or stones too?

- is it advisable to buy the DW which already has plants or moss growing on them? I am hoping to speed up this process instead of doing it myself - of course need to search for the right combination of DW and plant too

- while I intend to have a low teach tank, I am thinking of starting off with some CO2 injections to speed things up initially. is this advisable?

thanks so much!

Feedback Score
    4 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

Re: handling plants