Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

First planted tank! Help!

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi, all the pros here. I'm new to planted tank and relatively new to fish keeping. Have only been keeping bare tank with guppies for a few months until I got poisoned by the beautiful scapes here, and decided to dive in and set up a iwagumi style planted tank.

Below is the tank I just set up few days ago.

tank spec: 60 x 30 x 36
    Soil: ada amazonia
    Light: t5ho 24w x 2
    Plants: glosso and hairgrass

no co2, but planning to set up a diy co2 soon.

Can pros advised me is there anything I'm doing wrong or am i on the right track?

Last edited by lzw814; 31st Jan 2013 at 00:39.

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

Re: First planted tank! Help!

Your tank currently more suitable for growing algae.

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

I have added a few oto inside. I have been dosing seachem flourish excel as well. Will that help?

Feedback Score
    4 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

Maybe i can provide some suggestions... i've started up 3 planted tanks over the past few months, so i've also gone through all the initialization problems and issues too.

For your tank size and planting density, it seems to be quite sparsely planted at the moment, so it would take a much longer time for the plants to establish roots and start spreading, in the meantime algae will have the advantage (as it is already filled with water)... so i would suggest you get more plants and plant them heavily and densely from the start. Maybe also add fast growing plants temporarily to soak up the excess nutrients and nitrates, later you can remove them once the tank parameters stabilize.

That's one of the reasons why people do dry start method (DSM) for carpet plants, no need to worry about Co2 or algae issues.